English (UK)

KIGALI, Rwanda – The Nile Basin Initiative, in partnership with seven organisations, has rewarded 12 journalists from the Nile Basin Initiative Member States for excellence in reporting about the Nile Basin and Nile cooperation issues.

The awards ceremony held on the first day of the 5th Nile Basin Development Forum held in Kigali, Rwanda were organised in five categories namely; print, digital, radio, television and photography. However, entries in the latter category did not conform to the rules.

Winners in the different categories included:
1st - Frederic Musisi (Uganda)
2nd – Sylvester Domasa (Tanzania)
3rd – Solomon Goshu (Ethiopia)
3rd – Kevin Ogutu (Kenya)

1st – Bassem Abo Alabass (Egypt)
2nd – Mabior Philip Nuer (South Sudan)
3rd – Henry Lutaaya (Uganda)

1st – Michael Wambi (Uganda)
2nd – Claver Hakizimana (Burundi)
3rd – Jean Paul Mbarushimana (Rwanda)

1st – Simon Mugisha (Uganda)
2nd – Fabien Niyonizigiye (Burundi)

Prizes included research grants, training opportunities, media gadgets as well as made-in-Rwanda gift baskets from partners including German government, GIZ, Nile Basin Discourse, Media in Cooperation and Transition, Intergovernmental Authority on Development, Deutsche Welle, Africa Water Journalists and Global Water Partnership Eastern Africa.

The Nile Media Awards is a biennial event organised by the Nile Basin Initiative with support from the German government.